Stainless steel is a steel type that is extremely resistant to corrosion. The “passive layer”, also known as the chromium-rich oxide film, is responsible for stainless steel’s resistance to corrosion. You will also find varying amounts of carbon, silicon, and manganese. To enhance formability and resist corrosion, other elements, such as nickel or molybdenum can be added.

All types of stainless steel are used, from large architectural structures to small chairs.

Stainless steel can be divided into four types.

  1. Ferritic

Iron and chromium make up the simplest of compositions. This is known as ferritic stainless steel. Their crystal structure is called “ferrite”. These magnetic materials are used in products like automobile trim or dishwashers. These are the most affordable form of ferritic steel, but they also have disadvantages like difficulties welding or forming. Mufflers and heating systems are two examples of how ferritic steel is used.

5 Factors to Consider When Selecting a Grade of Stainless Steel
Image Source: Google
  1. Austenitic

Austenitic is the most popular stainless steel group. Its microstructure is formed by adding nickel, manganese, and nitrogen. Its structure, unlike ferritic, is suitable for welding and shaping.

  1. Martensitic

Martensitic steels look similar to ferritic because they are made from chromium. They have a higher level of carbon (up to one per cent). They can be hardened and tempered due to this. Martensitic is often found in longer products than in plate and sheet form. They also have low formability and weldability.

  1. Duplex

Duplex steels are composed of 50 per cent ferritic steel and 50 per cent austenitic steel. This gives them greater strength than any other steel. They resist stress corrosion cracking, are weldable, and are magnetic. You can use duplex in pipes or architectural structures.